Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
The Battle of the Corndogs or Mornings Suck || September 09, 2002
I have no earthly idea where this entry is going to go. I'm seriously sleep deprived. I MUST start getting to bed earlier, that's all there is to it.

You know how when you stay up too late, then over sleep the next morning and have to jump up and run around wildly trying to get your day started? That feeling of trying to play catch up and reclaim the lost hour? How no matter what, nothing that day seems to go right? That's my day today.

And I couldn't have picked a worse day either. All last week Kimo's class did activities related around Grandparent's Day (which was yesterday, fyi). They told stories about things they've done with their grandparents, drew pictures of them, etc. The apex of all this was that today was Invite Your Grandparents To Lunch Day at their school. Kimo was so excited about it. We called Granny (my mom) so he could invite her and of course she said yes. She takes this Granny stuff seriously. So since Granny doesn't drive it was decided that I'd go pick her up after dropping Kimo off at school. (Gomez catches the school bus to his school and incidentally got out the door with time to spare this morning.) Then Granny and I would buzz through Sonic for some corn dogs, tater tots and Sprites (Kimo's favorite meal) and I'd take her to the school and wait with her until Kimo's class came out for lunch.

Well hells bells, I woke up at 9:15 and tripped around in a friggen stupor trying to get me and Kimo dressed and get him to school. I got him checked in by 9:30 and then had to zoom out to my mom's, stopping to clean all the junk out of the car along the way. (Smacked my head on the damn rearview mirror while vacuuming the cookie crumbs out of the floorboard. dammit, it felt like I scalped myself too.) Get to Mom's with just bare minutes to spare. Then we had this way too confusing conversation about which Sonic to call the order into. I mean, there's four of them in town and she's trying to decide which one would be best. I'm like "Mom. It's Sonic. The food is the same at all of them." Finally, while she was still debating the merits of one over the other, I grabbed the phone book (which she, in her anal-retentiveness, had already had laying on the table opened AND bookmarked to the page with the Sonic listings) and picked one and placed the order. All the while she's in the background "helping" by reminding me that it HAS to be corn dogs, NOT hot dogs. Keep in mind that I'm NOT a morning person and in my haste I didn't even get my morning shot of caffeine. *whimper*

Got her out the door, made it to Sonic and even made it to the school in plenty of time so that we were waiting there when Kimo came into the cafeteria. His little face lit up brightly. I thought to myself "Oh yeah!! That smile just made everything I've been through this morning worth it."

I killed some time, because parents weren't allowed to attend today, then picked Mom up and took her home. Sat and visited for a bit and then made some lame-ass excuse about coming home to mow the lawn. Yeah yeah, we all know I was coming home to take a nap, but she didn't. Let's not stir up that hornet's nest, mmmkay?

So I get home and have every intention of laying down for a nap, thinking "cool, I can sleep for three hours!". Then my addiction kicked in and I got that little niggling voice in my head that said "Just check a few emails first." (cue air raid sirens) MISTAKE!! It's now 2:40 and I have to be at the school at 3:00. Definitely not enough time to sleep. I'd oversleep again and I don't want to go through all that crap again. LOL

Oh, the kicker to the story -- Kimo was insistant that he and Granny not eat cafeteria food. That it was ok for Granny to bring a special lunch for them cuz his teacher said so, and by god, you know we have to do the special thing, right? I glanced at the school menu when I walked in and guess what the cafeteria was serving today.

Yep, corndogs. *groans*


Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet