Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
California Dreamin' || July 09, 2003
Howdy from CA. *waves to Jill, who isn't that far from where Bisa is*

Yep, I'm on vacation AND updating. Yeah, I know, amazing ain't it?

I've been doing absolutely nothing since I got here Saturday. Well wait that's not completely true. There have been a couple of ventures out ... the grocery store, the mall *~* shows off new tennis shoes and an adorable pale pink purse that was a steal *~* and a couple of restaurants ... but by and large I've done nothing else, save lay in the sun. It's a real bummer that I'm one of those people who can get a really kick ass tan except no one knows it unless they can see my tan lines. This is because I'm so friggen pale to begin with that when I'm "really" tan for me, I just look kinda sorta "maybe she got a hint of sun walking to her car" tan to everyone else. But oh well, at least the tan kinda fades out the scars, veins and stretch marks so they aren't so noticeable. :D LOL

I did manage to learn something. I've come to the conclusion that in California, at least in north cal, speed limit signs are really just a suggestion. It just amazes me too. Of course, I live in a little podunk town and the cops there have nothing else to do really than to sit with radar guns and zap ya. But here, hell, if the speed limit sign says 30, they're doing 50 easy and still in danger of getting run over. Odd, really odd.

And why do people out here get in such a damn hurry about stuff. Man, road rage also applies inside stores and stuff. Very impatient people, these Californians. Back home we'll say "I'm fixing to get ready to go to Walmart". Heck, you say that out here and people start getting their shoes on and turning the tv off right that second. They just don't understand that doesn't mean we are going right NOW. It means we're thinking about it and will probably leave in about an hour or two. Hell, they even talk fast out here. I was watching tv and felt like my brain was on a 30 second delay, yanno like the kind they use on the radio call in shows to screen out profanity? The newscaster would say something and it'd take a few seconds for it to seep into my brain and translate. I thought Californians were, for the most part, laid back.

So as not to come across as anti-California I've got to say I love it out here. (Except for the politics. I don't even live here and I think Gray Davis should be recalled) Heck, I can speed right along with the rest of them, and yep, my temper gets short at times too. Umm can't talk fast, but I can learn to listen faster, I guess(?).

The weather here is fantastic. I get so tickled at everyone here whining about how hot it is, and all in a tizzy that it's going to break 100 this week. Oh I'm sure that to them that is hot and, in all fairness, 100 is considered hot back home too. The difference, of course, is the humidity. Case in point, I've been laying out almost daily and while I do sweat a bit, I can lay out here for two hours, whereas back home the stifling heat would have driven me back inside within 30 minutes. Oh, and the wonderful breezes here! I wish I could bottle those up and take them home with me. I've been taking showers in the early evening then going to sit outside on the porch to let the wind dry my hair. That would never happen at home, it wouldn't get dry and I'd have to go take another shower just to get rid of the sweat.

I missed Big Brother last night which really bummed me out. I can't figure out the stupid TV schedule thing here. I'm so used to listening for what time CENTRAL that it comes on that I'm totally lost .. especially since for some 'tarded reason my brain tries to do the two hour conversion even when I start with Pacific time. So I got it figured out for tonight, HA HA!! I'm just leaving the tv on CBS all day and starting at 6 pm I'm running in every hour to check to see if it's on yet. Umm and threatening that if anyone turns the channel they are dead meat. ~sweet smile~

It's definitely time for a nap. I woke up at the ungodly hour of 7 am this morning. Just woke up. Eyes popped open and I was 100% awake. For no reason! And I didn't even go to sleep until after 2:30 a.m.. Yeah, it IS scary, isn't it?

Until next time ~

bisa

Pass the aloe please


Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet