Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
Pathetic People || October 20, 2002
Can someone please explain something to me?

Why would someone enter a contest, which will require a good deal of work on their part and then slam the contest on a public message board? I mean, if you thought the contest was beneath you or not worth your time, why enter it? If that�s the only way, someone can have a good time, it�s pathetic, don�t you think? I mean, if you don�t like something, bow out gracefully instead of slinging shit around, good gawd.

Also, why would someone enter a contest and then be mean spirited towards the other contestants, who have been nothing but nice to this person? I�m talking about making snide remarks on this public message board about the fellow contestants. Where is the class and sense of fair play? Linking to challenges and making cutting comments about the competitors and the contest as a whole is beyond me. And stating the reason behind using a certain style in a contest was so that you can be uglier that way. You know, participating in an event goes beyond just abiding by the rules, it also involves staying within the guidelines of the spirit of the contest.

I should state that I�m not in the contest, so I�m not directly affected by it. It just pisses me off to see someone get their rocks off by badmouthing something they actually signed up to compete in; something that was set up to be fun and to bring together a group of people who have at least one thing in common, namely writing.

It reminds me of the movie Grease when Danny and Sandy re-meet at the bonfire and Danny treats her like shit around his friends so he can fit in, although you can tell by the look in his eyes that he really does want to be involved with her. Maybe it�s the insecurity of �said� person that is causing this. Who knows? I do know that these people aren�t high school kids, so I think that�s what�s really throwing me.

And, to top it all off, if such contempt is borne for both contest and contestants, why the need to panhandle, outside of the community, for votes in a poll set up to register favorites just so you can be �favorite contestant�? Oh yeah, that�s the real measure of how the diary community views you � you just have to look past all the paid for votes.

You know, I�ve changed my mind. This isn�t the behavior of high school kids. It�s the behavior of a group of people who have nothing better to do that to hide behind their own insecurities by tearing down anyone and anything that they can, totally disregarding anyone else�s feelings. Hell, maybe in spite of anyone else�s feelings.

It reminds me of a pack of ADD-afflicted hyenas. (And considering where this group of individuals have their board, it's a very real possibility that my description isn't too far off the mark.) Sickening.

bisa~

Birds of a feather flock together � and crap on your car.




Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet