Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
Why keep a diary? || October 22, 2002
Another boring entry in the life of me. But, I guess that's what a diary is for. *shrug*

Cut! ---------

Ok, I'm having this problem. After reading all these diaries in which people have these deep and complex entries, and diarists who have this knack to be able to make life's most mundane happenings seem exciting or funny, my entries seem rather boring.

Hell, I'm not a writer, and I keep reminding myself that I didn't start a diary for the purpose of entertaining people. I certainly didn't do it out of a sense of needing approval. Nope, I learned to stop looking for approval and validation from others years ago. Everytime I did I got slammed or hurt. That's why I won't be joining any writing circles, contests or having my diary reviewed. It's easier to avoid rejection and ridicule if you don't paint a bigass target on your ass and stick it out there to get kicked.

Sooo, that leads me back to why I started this diary. The simple answer is that I started it to record day to day thoughts and occurrences so that I can look back on them and remember where I was in my life at certain times. What was going on with me, emotionally, mentally, physically. Maybe jot down something that made me smile on a day, or something that made me think one evening.

The next question is "Ok, so why a public one?" Hmm, that's a bit harder. I've never ever been the type of person to seek out the spotlight. Old insecurities, old scars. I guess I did it so that maybe I'd be found by someone else out here in diaryland who has the same thoughts, ideas, dreams, frustrations as me. Maybe I'd find one of them and be able to point them here and say "I know just what you mean, take a look." Hell, even to share something that I found funny or amusing.

Sure it's fun to watch the counter rise, but really to me that isn't a measure of acceptance, it's more an indication that despite diaryland's echolessness, I'm not alone out here.

Ok, so now that I think I have this all figured out I guess I'll go back to writing the entry that I had planned on.

Action! -------


Today was a busy day. Got Gomez up and out the door for school and went to wake up Kimo. Bless his heart. His head is so stuffed up and his nose is running like a sieve. He looked at me bleary eyed and whimpered "I feel yuck, Mommy" so I told him he could stay home today and to go back to sleep. Poor little guy couldn't because he couldn't breathe so we got up. He said "I wish someone could wring my head out like a sponge and get all this snot outta it." LOL Yuck, but damn I can relate.

I got him (and all his stuffed critters) tucked into the recliner with his favorite soft blanket, got him some juice and turned on cartoons for him. Once he was comfy I started cleaning.

The guy came today to fix the furnance. The house was a wreck. Couldn't walk through the living room without feeling like you were an invading force against a battalion of Army Men. So, I got the living room floor picked up, did some dusting and vacuuming until Kimo started sneezing and then went to work on the windows.

The furnance dude finally showed up after lunch. Fifteen minutes of furnace cleaning and a new filter later, my furnance worked again and I was writing out a check for $50. I mean, geeze, if I'd have known it just needed to be vacuumed around the connection points I coulda done that and put that money towards my Wacom. On the other hand, I was very thankful it wasn't anything major. ~happy dance~

After he was cleared out Kimo and I headed to the clinic to get his final round of booster shots. I've got to hand it to him, he was so brave. I just knew that once the nurse stuck him the first time that I'd have to hold him to keep him from headbutting her when she came at him with the second one. He surprised the hell out of me. He didn't flinch! Didn't say OW. He only reacted when she gave him his third shot, which was the Diptheria Tetnus & Pertussis combo. His eyes widened. Yep, that's it. That is the only reaction my little tuff guy had. For a treat I took him to Kroger and let him get his favorite pudding cups and YES! we went through the self check out lane. *BEEP* ;-)

Between the shots (two in one arm, one in the other) and his cold, he wasn't feeling so great this evening. In fact, he went into his room and crawled onto his bed and went to sleep about 6:30 this evening. Now, keep in mind that at this point in his short life sleep is his enemy and is to be avoided at all costs. It's a battle to get him to bed each night. I figured he was down for the night, but he got back up about 8:30 and is still going strong at 2:00 am. bleh.

Until next time~

bisa

A flashlight is a case for holding dead batteries.




Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet