Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
Inexcusable || February 21, 2003
This baffles, stuns and saddens me.

And This pisses me off.

A parent's nightmare is that their child has such a seriously debilitating condition.

Speaking from experience, there is nothing, absolutely NOTHING, more terrifying that having to place your ill child in the hands of perfect strangers. All reassurances, while sometimes gratefully received, ring hollow. No matter how many times someone tries to tell you that things are being handled properly to ensure your child's health and recovery, there is always that twinge of doubt. You won't believe it until you see it with your own eyes. And hell let's face it, there is always that feeling that no one takes better care of your child than you do.

Can you imagine the shock and confusion of these parents when told "Oops, we goofed up"?

No, I'm not a doctor. I'm trained as a nurse. I know that the knowledge I have probably taints my views on this, because I've seen mistakes. Mistakes that would make the general public roar with outrage.

But this .... this .... holy fuck, how the HELL does a doctor go harvest organs after they have been turned down as non-compatible by two other surgeons and NOT check something as basic and simple as blood type?? That is beyond all my comprehension. This idiot of a cardiothoracic surgeon, and yes I'm calling him an idot despite all the accolades showered on him (including by the child's family), ASSUMED that the blood types matched (mistake number 1) and then didn't double check his assumption (mistake number 2).

And the parents let him operate a second time on her? Oh fuck no! Had that been Gomez or Kimo the mental midget wouldn't have touched them again. Probably because greasy spots generally can't operate on anyone. I'd have obliterated the moron. Besides that, I mean seriously think about it. Can you imagine the pressure on this man to fix his mistake? Not only is a heart/lungs transplant a nerve wracking and delicate operation, but you take a surgeon under the pressure and scruitiny this man was under and factor that in. No way in hell would he be cutting my child open again.

And the mom! Oh holy hell, she says she was no longer angry about the error because it had been corrected by the second surgery.

"Everything is going to come out OK," Santillan said. "I'm really blessed."

*blink blink blink* Am I missing something here? Blessed? Her child had the wrong typed organs implanted in her because of an inattentive surgeon's stupid and extremely avoidable mistake. The child was on life support for two weeks, which has damaged her kidneys and liver and now her brain is bleeding.

One of the doctors from the transplant team said that Jessica, the child, is as critical as they come, "She's as critical as a person could be. ... I can't really say anybody could be any sicker."

Granted I'm not in Jessica's mom's shoes, but fuck me running, I'd be out for blood. Duke would be paying through the nose to make sure my child had the most advanced care and most qualified care team. Period. Especially after waiting days to admit their mistake after realizing almost immediately what the doctor had done. Jessica's body reacting instantly, rejecting the incompatible organs.

Of course Duke is scrambling to cover it's ass. They admit the mistake and all that, although how could they not??, and they are trying to maintain some shred of respectability. Ok ok, yes I know, Duke does some wonderful work and has some of the best technology out there available to them. You can't judge a whole medical facility based on the actions of one surgeon.

Or can you?

Until next time~

bisa

Don't fuck with my kids. It WILL get you hurt. - bisa




Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet