Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
Mega entry: Payback's a bitch || November 03, 2002
First � huge thanks to justjill for the link and for designating me her spotlight diary of the day. Check out her new template. She�s all decked out for Thanksgiving.

Ok, I�ve got several days worth of stuff to write about and almost all of it, if not all, revolves around funny stuff that happened with the lil monsters. It�s stuff I don�t want to forget and hell, let�s face it, my memory these days sucks. In fact, I was telling all this stuff to Chrome the other night and had him rolling; he suggested I make entries out of all these little tales and I ended up saving the conversation so I wouldn�t forget any of it.


Report cards:

Both boys got their report cards Wednesday. Gomez ended up with four B�s and three C�s, which is fantastic for him. Because of his dyslexia, he�s working at a 3.5 grade level in reading and spelling. It also affects his ability to do math to an extent. He is graded, however at a 6th grade level in most of his work. So for him to pull B�s and C�s it�s excellent and I�m very proud of him. He managed to pull up an F and two D�s to a two C�s and a B in a four-week period and that is awesome!! (yeah, I�ll take a little bit of the credit for it, but 98% of it is all him. Go Gomez!)

Kimo�s report card was straight A�s. Now, before you go writing him off because he�s in Kindergarten, please remember that for him it�s all new stuff. Yeah, for us to name colors and shapes and to be able to count is no big deal, it is work for a kindergartener. He was tested and is already easily doing work now that they won�t be getting to until the third nine weeks. His behavior is exemplary. I was stunned, I might for gawd�s sake this is my little headbutting hellion, yet his teacher says he�s an angel in class and very helpful. He�s also one of the more popular kids in kindergarten, not just in his class, but kids look for him on the playground at recess to play with him. Way to go Kimo!


Telling on big brother:

When I was tucking Kimo in the other night and going to read him a story, he didn't want the book I wanted to read. He said it was for little kids. It was a thick storybook, which I wanted to read cuz he falls asleep if I read long stories. He picked out this little book, which really IS for little kids, instead. So I told him the truth behind that book. I said "THIS book is for little kids" and he said "nuh uh" and I said "Yep. In fact, this is the book that I had to read to Gomez EVERY time he went poop when he was potty training."

Kimo got the giggles and said "Not EVERY time!" and I said "Oh yes, EVERY time. Why, I read it so much that I bet he STILL remembers it."

About that time Gomez pipes up with this real firm "Mom, we need to have a talk!" cuz it embarrassed him that I was talking about him pooping. This just sent Kimo into harder gales of laughter.

So anyway I winked at Gomez and said "Watch this" and then I raised my voice a bit and said "Hey Gomez, listen" and I read three lines of this rhyming four line stanza, his favorite stanza in the whole book, and he immediately answered with the fourth stanza correctly. When Gomez finished the stanza Kimo was laughing his butt off, completely amazed that Gomez actually remembered the passage. So I started with page one and would read three lines of the stanzas on each page and Gomez would finish them, missing only a word here or there from time to time. By the time we were finished, poor little Kimo couldn�t breathe and had tears rolling down his face from laughing so hard.

It was so much fun.


Book smart, but jury still out on common sense:

Last Friday all the kindergarteners got to take a field trip to a pumpkin patch and they were all given little pumpkins to bring home. This brought our total pumpkin count up to four. Two that the boys and I carved (which was an experience in and of itself, especially when Kimo looked at me, tired from punching holes around his pattern and asked plaintively �Are you going to do ANY of the work??�), the one that Kimo and I got to paint together and this new adoptee.

Gomez asked him �Did you get to paint this one too?� and Kimo said, �Umm, yahuh, we did.�

I was in the kitchen putting groceries away and overhead the conversation. Since I knew they didn�t paint these pumpkins I crept over to the doorway to hear better.

Gomez: Let me see.

Kimo: Ok, here it is. *pulling the pumpkin from his backpack with a flourish and presenting it as if it were the crown jewels*

Gomez: Um, Kimo, where did you paint it?

Kimo: Oh � well � I used orange paint only on this one.

Gomez: Where?? *turning the pumpkin around and around in a valiant attempt to find his brother�s artwork*

Kimo: Geeze, Gomez, right there. Can�t you see the eyes, the mouth, and the nose??

Gomez: Umm, no � WHERE??

It was at this point that Gomez and I just lost it, busting out in fits of laughter. Gomez because he pulled one over on his big brother, me because Kimo actually managed to do it. Sneaky lil booger! ~smiles proudly~


Your past will bite you in the ass:

The other night the boys were engaged in their favorite past time of bickering over which channel to watch. Gomez wanted to watch some movie that they�ve seen at least 7 times. Kimo wanted to watch his beloved Power Puff Girls. The bickering took a nasty turn when Gomez started in with �You big sissy. Power Puff Girls is a show for girls!� and mouthing that Kimo is �a major weenie for liking them.�

Now, I know boys are gonna be boys and brothers are going to fight, but this was rapidly descending into low blow territory because Gomez knows that Kimo really likes watching the PPG because he likes Mojo Jo Jo, the evil monkey villain.

Soooo Mom to the rescue, putting Gomez in his place. I casually walk into the living room and say, �Ya know, calling Kimo a sissy for wanting to watch PPG is a bit funny coming from a boy who begged for an Easy Bake Oven when he was four � and got one.� Gomez�s chin hit his chest and his eyes widened, and then he grinned this sheepish grin and blushed. Kimo�s expression was almost a mirror image. Then both boys ended up laughing together and settling on playing the PlayStation2 instead.

Funny thing � they chose to play some game in which the object was blow up as much shit as you can. Hmm, methinks perhaps they were reassuring themselves of their masculinity. ~grin~


What goes around comes around:

Kimo�s sixth birthday is Monday, so we had a little party for him at my parents� house today. My brother and his wife joined us. Now, I feel the need to mention here that they have no kids yet. My brother is famous for buying bizarre presents for his nephews. He brought Gomez a hockey puck from one of the Little Rock teams several years ago. Cool present? Well, maybe, but Gomez was about 9 months old at the time. When I gave my brother a blank look, he said, �It�s for him to teethe on. I�ve already boiled it to sanitize it.� Um, yeah, ok, Bro.

Today Kimo was joyfully ripping wrapping paper apart and tearing into gift bags. He finally got to the present from his aunt and uncle. I was watching, curious to see what they got for him. I hear Kimo exclaim �OH COOL!� about the same time I heard Gomez groan and say �Oh crap!� I couldn�t see what they were talking about because Kimo�s back was to me. He whips around to proudly show off his new present. I almost fell off the fucking couch.

A hammer.

An honest to god real hammer.

For a six year old.

For a six year old with a passion for �fixing� (read: destroying) things.

For a six year old whose idea of stress relief is to head butt his brother � repeatedly.

I looked over at my brother and sister-in-law. She mouthed, �I�m sooo sorry! It was his idea and I couldn�t stop him.� Bro just grinned, but to his credit, he did add, �I figured it would stay out here for Kimo to use when he�s out in the workshop with Pops.�

~grumbles~ He is SOO gonna get paid back when they have kids. Trust me, I know the loudest, most annoying, messiest, most destructive toys there are out there. Poor Sis-in-law keeps reminding me �Remember that you like me, please.� ~laugh~

Until next time~

bisa

Misery may love company, but PMS hates everyone.




Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet