Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
Sick kids, Elvis and The Champ || October 25, 2002
Yesterday I kept Kimo home from school because he had been up and down with his cold and hadn't gotten much sleep, on top of still feeling bleh ... so I didn't think it was very fair to inflict that little beast on his teacher and fellow classmates. He was in one of his obstinant "me me me" moods. So of course when the phone rang at noon and I saw on the caller ID that it was Gomez's school calling, my nerves went on full alert. Yep, Gomez was running a fever and had a red, raw throat and needed to be picked up. That gave them both a half a day at each other's throats. Yippee.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today, Gomez stayed home and Kimo went to school. Kimo was so excited because today was "Paint a Pumpkin Day" at his school. Parents were asked to join their kids this morning from 9:00 am to 10:00 am to read books together and then to paint a pumpkin together.

Kimo and I had it going on! We weren't sticking with the basic boring colors like red, blue, yellow and white. Oh hell no, not us two rebels. We were gleefully giggling and mixing up a whole plethora of colors. I bet it's safe to say we had the ONLY Hippie/Tye-Dyed pumpkin in the whole school. ~nods, rocking back and forth on her heels proudly~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Preface- Kimo has just "discovered" Elvis within the past couple of weeks.

< insert > sound of tv being turned on and image of cheesy variety show magician fading into view.

Kimo: Look Mom, it's Elvis!

bisa: No, Elvis is dead.

Kimo: It's Elvis's Dad?

bisa: No, Elvis. is. dead.

Kimo: Already??

bisa: ~trying to keep from laughing~ Yes, already.

Kimo: How'd he die?

bisa: ~thinking fast and not wanting to waste a perfect opportunity to warn~ He took drugs and it ended up killing him.

Kimo: Wow

< fast forward a few hours to bedtime >

bisa: Kimo, come take some more medicine so you can sleep.

Kimo: No way!

bisa: Huh? You like the taste of this.

Kimo: Nuh uh .. look what happened to Elvis!!

bisa: ~caught between laughing and strangling him for being so damn literal~

Gomez: ~laughing his butt off at his "dorky" little brother~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Preface - on the way to meeting their Dad this afternoon, just a 15-20 minute trip.

Kimo: Mom, stop at the gas station so I can get a drink and some chips.

bisa: No, you're going to have dinner with Mamaw and Papaw, besides, I don't have any cash with me and I'm not going all the way to the bank and then coming all the way back.

Kimo: Please?

bisa: No.

Kimo: *growling* dang, I SAID please and used good manners and junk.

bisa: I know and I appreciate it, but no.

Kimo: I hate you.

bisa: ~veteran player of this game~ ok.

Kimo: I want to go live with Dad!!

bisa: ok

Kimo: Well, maybe not live with him, but I want to go stay TWO WEEKS!

bisa: Ok, fine.

Kimo: Wellll, maybe not two weeks. Maybe two days!! *chin jutted out defiantly*

bisa: Okie doke. *same calm, level tone*

Kimo: Welllll, maybe not two days, maybe just spend the night.

bisa: Ok, sweetie.

Kimo: *voice cracking* NO WAY! I'M STAYING WITH YOU!

bisa: *smiles* Wonderful!

Gomez: (laughing his ass off in the back seat at his "dorky" little brother.)

~does the Rocky victory dance~ I am THE champion at this game! HA!

bisa

You never really learn to swear until you learn to drive.




Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet