Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
The Man with the Heart || October 07, 2002
I have this online friend, let's call him George, who I've known about a year now. I met him on a tag & graphics group and we sorta followed each other around to different groups. I taught him some PSP tips and tricks and he picked it up quickly and ran with it, making some of the most beautiful tags I've seen. He's a butcher by trade, a decorated, retired military man, who saw action in all the "conflicts" and wars from Viet Nam to Desert Storm. Somewhere along the way he even picked up at least one Purple Heart, but I suspect there were more. George is a humble man and his modesty prevents him from being boastful.

He's also a very very skilled woodcrafter. Some of his carvings just knock your socks off. He is in the process of carving me an angel at his own insistence.

He recently remarried and added a beautiful 3 year old step-daughter to his family of him and his 19 year old son. She has George wrapped around her finger. He emailed me in a panic one night when she got all upset because her Mom had to leave unexpectedly before she got home from preschool. (Mom is a medical professional and got called in to work a major accident) He didn't know what to do because she wouldn't stop crying and he desperately wanted to make her feel safe and secure. I gave him some parenting tips and shot them back to him quickly. After a while George wrote back, blessing me many times over saying they worked like a charm. LOL

George & the Mrs. just bought a new house together. One that they could call "ours" and even though he hasn't come right out and said it, I have the feeling that a new baby was being planned.

George has always been a good friend to everyone. Funny, charming, compassionate. Always the first to want to help out anyone who needed it .. even if it was just a "cheer you up" kind of thing. We've shared lots of funny emails over the past year. Lots of graphics and learning together. Me teaching him PSP, Him trying to teach me how to do scripting of email stationery. He keeps sending me these gorgeous, complicated scripts that just blow me away. Constantly pestering me (in a good way) to "Let me send you these scripts. All you have to do is blah blah blah and then blah blah blah blah" as I sit there totally lost at the first blah.

Today I got the notice that George left two of the three groups we are on together. I wrote him just to double check because Yahoo has been bouncing people out right and left. His reply email has me stunned.

He told me that yes, it was his own decision. That he just found out that he has cancer. An incurable kind. One that they don't know how to treat. One that has rarely been seen, much less talked alot about in the media. George, the man with the huge heart, has cancer of the heart.

Despite all my medical training, despite all the Pink Ribbon tags I've done to help raise the awareness of breast cancer, which now seems really lame and pointless even though I've sent out over 700 at last count today, despite all the friendly love and admiration I have for my friend ....... I feel so fucking useless and powerless.

Fuck.


Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet