Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
New Stuff || 10.01.03
Whew, dunno about you boys and girls but that little center entry column was just too confining. I felt like I was reading a newspaper column, and while I personally think my life is newsworthy at times it was making me claustrophobic in the worst kind of way.

So I moved everything that was over there ------> over to <----- that side. It's still all there, just moved so I didn't feel so cramped.

And there's an new extra at the bottom. A word assocation thingy from Lunanina. Her Unconscious Mutterings button is sitting there and you can click it to get to the current list. I found it while reading lady-malfoy last night. Simple things amuse me. No, not LM, ya goof. Word association quizzes.

So yeah anyway, I figured since I've hit this total dry spell as to what to write in here I'd give the Word Association Thingy a try.

I'm also toying with the DS5 contest. I'm not sure about it. In one way it seems like fun and a great challenge. I certainly have the time to put thought into the Immunity Challenges with the kids being in school and it does seem like a way to kick start my creativity. Then on the other hand I'm well aware of the talent of the prior contestants and I really have this uber case of insecurity going on. Unlike what seems to be the majority of people who strive to present their entries as professionally and even semi-professionaly done works of literature, I'm not a writer. I don't have a book sitting around on my harddrive collecting cyber dust. I don't have tons of stories brewing in my head. Yeah, I've tried my hand at "writing", and I've found that ... well ... basically I suck at it. Oh, I can write a scenario, but sometimes I either suffer from not enough details to barraging the reader with entirely too many. And backstory? Pfft, forget it. Ain't happening. I see the world at face value, therefore when I write about it, I write that way too. I somehow miss nuances of description that seem to come so easily for other writers. I mean, hell fire, Weetabix can make shopping for bras seem like an epic. Uncle Bob can make lunch with co-workers out to be a black comedy. My descriptions pretty much fall flat. I think I'm more of a reporter than a story teller. So yeah, insecurities they are a'flaring. I'll give it some more thought though.

Onto the Word Association Thingy. It's simple. Each week 10 words are posted and you respond with whatever pops into your head. The rules are there aren't any rules. I'm sure some words will trigger a one word response, especially if they really don't spark something with me and leave me apathetic. Other words may evoke long and rambling responses. Give it a try, you might enjoy it.

1. Herpes::Commercial. Yep, makes me think of those commercials for meds. Go figure.

2. Freddy::Got Fingered. Yeah, stupid movie but hey, the title makes me giggle in a sophomoric kind of way. Yahuh, as a matter of fact I AM perverted.

3. October::My Month. I love October. I love the beginning of fall with the air turning crisp and the humidity dropping down to a manageable 60%. It's when I get to pull out my beloved sweaters and leggings, curl up with a mug of tea or raspberry cocoa and a good book. I was born on the 28th. Yeppers, I was supposed to be a little Halloween punkin but I got impatient apparently. It was probably the only time in my life that I have actually been early for an event.

4. Hunting::Deer. More specifically packing up the X's stuff for him so he'd go spend days in the deer woods and leave me the hell alone.

5. MSN::Messenger. See, here's one of those apathetic answers.

6. 36::Age. Specifically my current one. More specifically the one I plan to stay at forever, seeing as how it fits me well.

7. Hotel::Tryst. That's all I'm saying about that.

8. Travesty::Justice. Yeahhhh buddy, I'm betting I've read too many legal thrillers seeing as how I came up with that little gem of an association.

9. Health::Worried. The past two years each fall has brought about nasty health problems for me. 2001 almost landed me in the hospital. I was saved by the fact that I was still fairly mobile and the hospital was absolutely packed. 2002 damn near did me in though. I managed to stay out of the hospital but I'd never been that sick nor felt that much pain in my life. Never. And folks, I've had root canals, I've had not one but TWO C-sections, a spinal and countless sprain, strains & a broken bone or two along the way. Nothing compared to the pain I was in. Started with a sinus infection, then morphed into bronchitis, pneumonia, infected lymph gland, brochitis again and back to the infected lymph glad. The infected lymph gland in my throat caused serious pain from my chin along my jawline and up to my ear. The whole right side of my head and neck hurt so horribly that even my hair brushing against them could send me into a fit of tears. Which of course just compounded the problem because of the strain put on the lymph gland when the muscles around it tightened due to the crying. Vicious circle folks, I really don't recommend it. And dammit to hell if I'm not starting to feel the little telltale twinges already. Ugh bisa, get thee to a doctor!!

10. Conditions::As it cleans. *snort* Yeah, that came outta the blue. Go figure. *hair flip*

~~~~~~~~~~

I'm finally reading Gone With The Wind. HEY! Ya'll stop gasping. Yeah yeah, I know it's supposedly required reading for all good GRITS but dang, I just never seemed to get around to it until now. I saw the movie a bazillion times. Doesn't that count?

Oh.

Well, ok, but now I'm catching up with my sister belles and am actually reading the book. Now why the hell I was surprised that it's different from the movie I don't know. It's making me want to see the movie again though. Hey, I should ask for the DVD for my birthday, huh? *makes a note to add that to her wishlist*

But the best part of reading this book isn't getting lost in my beloved south as seen through Margaret Mitchell's eyes. Nope. The absolute best thing is that the book belonged to my grandmother and when I opened the pages I could smell her perfume, still there! I don't know how long ago she last read it but she's been in heaven for 6 years and I know she didn't read it in the last two years of her life. Reading it is almost like being transported back in time to when I was younger and sat beside her on the porch on a lazy day, drinking lemonade and reading together. Granny was a teacher and she shared the wonderful world of books with me at an early age. She used to send me care packages filled with books and kids magazines. She made sure that they weren't the boring drivel that some "age appropriate" books often are. She'd have loved the Harry Potter series and it's on my list of books to pick up one of these days.

The boys just came in and asked super nicely if we could go get a malt. While my ass is saying "noooo we're warm, not moving" my throat is saying "OhHELLyes!" The throat wins by a lymph gland. ;-)

Until next time~

bisa


Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet