Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
Lifestyles of the Stupid and Famous || 01.02.04

Apparently Steve Irwin has graduated from the Michael Jackson School of Parenting.

The full story is HERE

When you get to the page, you'll see a picture of Steve holding his one month old son in one arm while dangling a dead chicken in front of a crocodille with the other.

Now c'mon folks, how different is a floppy one month old baby going to look from a floppy dead chicken to a croc? For all we know that croc may have looked up at Steve and thought "Cool! An extra value meal."

If you click on the NEXT link under the picture on the site, you'll be shown a picture of Steve taking the newborn on a "walk" near the 13 foot reptile.

Good god, what the hell was this man thinking? What the hell was his wife thinking? Yep, she was there at the time as well, watching the whole thing. I dunno about ya'll but I was a nervous wreck the first time my X bathed Gomez. It would have been after a bloody (literally) fight before Steve got my child anywhere near a croc whose feeding instincts had been aroused.

Ya wanna endanger your own life, go right ahead, but why in fuck's name would you put your child in the path of such needless risk? I mean, yeah if you are in a building that's on fire, with no way out other than a window, you will risk dropping your child from the third floor into a blanket held by rescuers. That's an acceptable risk. But gawdddd even remotely enticing a 13 foot lethal reptile with a floppy baby?

I saw that image and immediately thought "Yeah, and Roy Horn thought there was nothing to fear from a wild animal." I mean hell's bells people, anyone with half a lick of common sense knows better than to leave an infant alone in a room with a domesticated dog.

I've never written to any tv program but this actually spurred that. I went to Discovery.com and found a link with which to contact them. This is what I wrote:

After Steve Irwin's sickening display of holding his one-month-old son while feeding crocs, and then "walking" the child near the reptile, I will NEVER again watch this show nor buy any merchandise related to it, much to the disappointment of my children. I cannot express how horrifyingly sickening this stunt was. It seems Mr. Irwin has graduated from the Michael Jackson School of Parenting. I will not and cannot condone nor support anything affiliated with a man who so blatantly disregards the welfare of his child. Putting one's own self in harm's way is a conscious decision and while it may not be mainstream, it is that individual's choice. But placing an infant in such a precarious position, apparently with the mother's approval, is completely unacceptable. I sincerely hope that such a family oriented company like Discovery will take a few minutes and reconsider its association with such a person.

If any of ya'll feel the need to express your concerns to Discovery.com, you will have to do so through their website at THIS page.

From now on all things Steve Irwin are officially on my shitlist.

Sorry Froggy.




Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet