Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
Is There A Doctor In The House? || 02.18.04
I can't believe this.

After Mom's fall she has been recovering slowly. She had mentioned, but not really complained, that her right leg was extremely sore. We had written it off to the fact that she landed on that side when she fell.

She told me the day before yesterday that she had talked to my brother, who is an EMT, and told him that everytime she walked, her leg would pop. It was an audible pop, not just one of those that you feel more than hear. She asked him kind of bashfully "Do you think I broke my leg too?"

Brother, ever the know it all, cockily told her "No Mom. If you'd broken it you wouldn't have been up walking around on it like you have been."

She took this to heart because, hey, it was Bro telling her this. Her golden child. Yaaaaaanoooo, the one who hangs the moon and stars. Yeah, that'd be the one. Considering how much weight he pulls with her, I didn't argue. Let's forget the fact that he is a brand new EMT, having just last week finishing his training. Let's forget the fact that I was a nurse many moons ago.

Forgotten it? Good.

(I knew she had an appt to see the doc anyway and it would be taken care of. I told her to stay off it until she could see him.)

Today she went back to see her doctor so he could re-xray her wrist. He isn't totally pleased with the way her bones are mending. One bone is fine, but the other is a bit set off to the side. He wants her to come back next week to have it xrayed again.

While she was there she told him about the problem with her leg - how it was popping and how she was hobbling around. He smartly realized that at age 62 her bones aren't as pliable as they once were so he had her leg xrayed today.

He came back in and said "Well now we know why you're hobbling. Your fibia is broken up where the tibia and fibia join below the knee."

*blink blink blink* Holy shit people!! She's been walking around on this leg for over a week now. She hasn't been able to get comfortable to sleep very well. Her bones in her right forearm are both broken. Yet she complains VERY rarely and has amazingly been pretty damn upbeat.

In fact, the worry that I had about her getting all bent out of shape (no pun intended) about having Pops do things for her was all for naught. She hasn't bitched about it once and hasn't even snapped at him.

Of course, being in the pain she was in I can understand it. Some people get very verbal as a way to deal with pain, while others get very quiet and internalize it. She just kept popping her pain meds and suffering in relative silence.

I'm amazed and have a totally newfound respect for her.

Oh, and about Bro ... *snicker* I asked Mom if she had called him yet and she said she hadn't. I told her, let me call him. *cackle*

Bisa: Hey Bro, I have a question for ya.

Bro: Ok, shoot.

Bisa: Yanno in the lower leg you have the Tibia and the Fibia?

Bro: Yep

Bisa: Pop quiz time. Which one is the smallest?

Bro: The Fibia but you knew that.

Bisa: Yep. Well that's the one that Mom broke when she fell the other day.

Bro: Holy Shit!! You're kidding!

Bisa: Nope, she broke it.

Bro: Now I feel bad because she asked me about it and I told her she'd know it if it was broken.

Bisa: *grinning quietly* That's why EMT's and Nurses don't diagnose, huh? *knowing damn well he was lectured nine ways from Sunday about that very fact*

Bro: *sheepishly* Yeah. Ok, I'll give her a call and apologize.

I do SO love to expose Bro's warts.

Childish? Probably, but damn, I had a good life for four years before he came along and stole my thunder. Hmpf.

Now she's asking about why her ankle is so sore and blue. Except, she's asking me. *g*

My advice? It may very well be broken or fractured. Stay off it, which she has to do anyway and have the doc xray it when she goes in next week to have her arm rechecked.

She's listening to me this time.

Finally.

Until next time~

bisa


Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet