Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
Ouchie || 02.10.04
There's nothing like getting bad news when you first wake up.

This morning I got the boys up and both of them were running fevers and stuffed up so I sent them back to bed, crawling back in bed myself cuz I still feel like shit.

I slept until about 1.00 pm and had just gotten up when the phone rang.

It was my Dad calling to let me know that Mom fell this morning and broke her arm. She was taking their dog out early this morning for his morning constitutional and when she stepped off their big porch onto the smaller landing at the top of the flight of stairs she stepped onto a glazed patch of the boards, not realizing that it was ice.

See, now you know where I get my morning brainlessness from.

Anyway, her feet went out from under her and she landed hard on her butt and her right arm, breaking her arm right above her wrist and bruising her tailbone. We are SO incredibly lucky that she fell backwards instead of forwards because she'd have gone headfirst down that flight of steps.

Dad said it's a clean break and looked rather grusome. She had been wearing his big coat so they didn't see it until they got to the hospital.

She came in and woke him up and said "Can you help me? I think I've broken my arm," as she was trying to take the coat off.

Pop said "Leave the coat on. You'll need it because we're going to the ER."

The doctor that saw Mom was the same doctor that did surgery on Dad's hand last summer. He's a very good orthopedic surgeon, but he always under estimates recovery time. He told Mom she'd be in the cast for about 4 weeks, which translates to be about 6 weeks. She goes back to see him in a few days so they can X-ray it to make sure it's setting right. At this point they aren't thinking that surgery is necessary.

Mom's balance hasn't been right since she had her stroke. If you walk behind her you see her swerving as she walks. She couldn't walk a straight line if her life depended on it. I'm not sure how much that had to do with her falling, probably very little, but since she's on Vicodin for the pain right now I told Dad to really watch her while she's moving around for the next few days.

Mom's stubborn and has already been up trying to do things around the house according to Pop. What is it with women having a hard time just sitting still and recuperating?

Of course, I'm one to talk.

But Mom, oh hell, she's even worse. After her stroke and her grand mal seizures she got treated pretty much like an invalid for a while and she hated it. She hates anyone hovering over her. She hated not being able to do the normal things she does.

Dad, of course, is very protective and wanted to help her with the things she couldn't do. Naturally, Mom saw this as smothering, even though he really wasn't.

Considering that Mom is right handed and that's the arm she broke, it's going to be real interesting around their house for a while.

Hmm, maybe Dad should have gotten a script for Vicodin too.


Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet