Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
From bad to worse || 01.07.04
As if yesterday morning wasn't rough enough, yesterday afternoon and evening proved to top it.

Our sleepy little town was rocked, quite literally, with several explosions at a chemical manufacturing plant, causing thousands to be evacuated - us included.

I ended up checking the boys out of school a couple of hours before they officially evacuated Kimo's school. They never officially evacuated Gomez's because the school is several miles west of the explosion site, but there were several parents there getting their kids while I was.

Kimo's school and our house, however, fell within a 1 1/2 mile radius and I wasn't taking any chances.

The plant had sulfuric acid, hydrofluoric acid and methane on site, but as of now we don't know which, if any of them, were involved in the explosions. We still don't know what caused the explosions in the first place.

The company had had 13 major OSHA violations in 1992 and had been fined. For some unknown reason they haven't been inspected by OSHA since then.

The black clouds of smoke could be seen as far away as 30 miles and was so dense that it showed up on National Weather Service radar.

The explosion made regional news, as well as CNN.

I grabbed the boys, and yes, Jasper too, and we got to Mom's about noon yesterday. We were finally able to come back home around umm 8:30 last night.

~*~*~*~*~

Needless to say being evacuated did nothing for my DS5 Immunity Challenge. I have my notes and blurbs jotted down, but had planned to use all day yesterday (after the nap, which never got taken) to pull all the pieces together. Then I was going to use today to flesh it out and polish it.

Umm yeah ... Plans of mice and men, yanno.

Today finds me scrambling, especially considering that for safety's sake they kept Kimo's school closed. (The logistics in having to possibly re-evacuate the school kept them from letting the kids go back. They have narrowed the evacuation area down to a 1/2 mile radius and the school doesn't fall into that area.)

So I have Kimo home with me, which means I'm not able to focus entirely on this IC. I keep thinking that I'll have some time if he takes a nap, but then again it would probably do me a world of good to nap when he does cuz I'm still sore.

My ankle is fine. My wrist is still a little sore. It's my butt that is giving me trouble. I never realized how much one uses the muscles in their butt until now. The process of standing and sitting is hard. Actually being seated hurts.

I woke up with a stupid headache this morning, a left over from yesterday morning's escapades and probably from the stress of yesterday afternoon.

~*~*~*~*~

I want to say a huge Thank You to everyone who left me comments on yesterday's entry. Yeah, it was ok to laugh, heck I was laughing as I wrote the thing. Looking back it was a Comedy of Errors, but damn when I was living it it sure wasn't. LOL

Ok, gotta get busy working on the IC.

Ya'll have a great day and check back later tonight for the IC. I think ya'll will get a kick out of it.

Until next time~

bisa




Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet