Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
You get what you pay for || 10.07.03
Geeze, sometimes I really have to wonder about people's mentalities. I mean I read this and just shook my head. I mean what the hell was this woman expecting??

For those of you who don't want to follow the link I'll short story it for you. A 45 year old transgendered woman did an internet search and found a doctor who was willing to castrate her ...

... for $800

... on her dining room table

... with no anesthesia

... who admittedly had no license to practice medicine in the state where the procedure was to take place.

... and she damn near bled to death

... and apparently was surprised to learn that this "doctor" was no doctor at all, never has been, never will be.

Good gawd, am I the only one who finds this ludicrous? The woman was severely traumatized, both physically and mentally but hells bells, what'd she expect?? Were red flags not slapping her in her face and upside her head?

Just another one of those stories that make ya think "What the fuck were they thinking?"

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Ok, moving on ... OH! I have some fantastic news! A friend of mine owns a commercial website and on his site there is a place to send and receive e-cards. I was looking through the site, trying to decide if I wanted to purchase a membership or not and noticed that the e-card graphics left a lot to be desired. The actual photos used were great, but the effects used on them were sophomoric at best. Huh? Why, yes I am a graphics snob. It comes from spending 10 to 12 hours a day working in Photo Shop and from being a perfectionist when it comes to graphics.

Anyway, I contacted him and asked who did the ecards for him. He said he did but that they sucked. I politely agreed. What?? Well hell, they did! He said he needed to find time to redo them but was so busy with photo shoots and filming that he just hadn't had time and they had become stale. Also he admitted that while he's a wiz with HTML, Pearl, cgi, php and Moveable Type, he sucks at graphics. I asked if I could help with it. I sent him the URL of my online portfolio and he took a look. That's when he totally stunned me. I mean, I was going to just volunteer my time. He told me if I'd go through and choose one picture from each of the galleries (approx. 60) and make an ecard out of it that he'd give me a free lifetime membership to the site. Complete and unrestricted access in which I can see all the clips, vids, stories, art work -- the whole shebang. That's $25 a month, folks. Then after doing those, for each additional card I do he'll pay me $15 per card. *blink*

Now, considering that he is providing the graphics, which cuts out a ton of time on my end, I can do about 6 cards per hour. Yep, they aren't that hard for me. So, help me do the math here cuz I've got rugrats battling in the next room. 6 x 15 = 90. Hmm $90 per hour and even working only 5 hours per day that makes *punches buttons on the calculator* Holy Shit!! and let's say I work 5 days per week *punches more buttons* DAYUM!!

So I sent him five samples using his photos and he loved them. Went on and on about how professional they were and how everyone was right when they said I should be getting paid for my work. Damn, he even THANKED me for taking his project. He said he'd be putting me in touch with other people he knew for possible future jobs. :)

So I've got to get busy getting these intial 60 finished. I'm to send them to him in batches of 8, because he's going to be putting 8 on each page. When the first set hits, if it's in the Free Section then I may let ya'll know the URL. Yep, it's an adult type site. And if you know anything about me you'll be able to guess what type of site it is. *g*

Until next time ~

bisa




Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet