Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
Lessons in Civility || August 11, 2003
Last night I decided to write X an email about the child support situation. I'm the type of person who hates confrontations and will avoid them at all costs. They make me physically ill. I have no problems whatsoever standing up for other people, just myself. Go figure. When emotions run high I lose my ability to grasp the right words and I get all tongue tied. You can even hear my voice wavering. Not because my mind is changing, but because of the adrenaline that pumps through me. So I'm thinking an email is the way to go. I can present my ideas, he can't interupt me mid-thought and plus it's an excellent record if I need to take it to court.

I was stressing over it, literally shaking and feeling nauseated as I was trying to write it. Luckily some wonderful friends held my hand and even helped me with the wording. I wanted it to sound professional, logical, emotionless and concise. Another plus in case this goes to court.

So, here's what I came up with and sent:

Dear X,

After giving it quite a bit of thought, I think it might be better if from now on instead of writing checks for the child support you get money orders and send them. This will insure that there's not another fiasco like we had in July. Every time a check bounces my bank charges me a $5 fee to back it out of my account. That happened twice in May. Then with this last one in July, not only did they charge me the $5, it sent four of my checks into overdraft, which cost $26 per check. That drove my balance into the negative, meaning that I couldn't even access money to buy groceries. Had your check not bounced I wouldn't have had that problem. I had to borrow money from Mom and Dad in order to buy groceries. I just simply can't risk being locked out of access to my account at the risk of one of your checks bouncing. With a money order I can deposit it and know the funds are there.

If this means that you have to wait until you get your paycheck on Friday, then buy the money order and send it on Monday, then so be it. I'd rather wait a few extra days and be assured that there won't be a problem.

In short, please send me all future child support payments using money orders, starting with the next payment. This will make sure that the money you send will be available and will avoid any potential problems in the future.

Bisa

Here is what I WANTED to write:

Dear festering pile of pig excrement,

Stop sending me rubber checks. Send money orders only or I will hire two big, mean Italians named Nick and Manny to come fuck you up ... err discuss this with you further.

Bisa

Hmm I think I made the right decision, don't you? :)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ok, time to go get the boys up and moving. Lots of things to do today. My mom is probably eyeing the clock and muttering since we haven't arrived yet, but damn, you'd think she'd have learned at some point in the past 36 years that I move on my own time. Hmpf.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A big shout out to squishyvan for the note. And to Trinity for her comment! They made me smile! I worked hard on those stick people. LOL Thank you :)

Until next time~

bisa

"The problem with most women is that they get all excited about nothing ... then they marry him." - Cher


Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet