Index | Archive | Profile | Guestbook | Notes | Host | Design based on design by PS
Mixed bag || 03.30.04
Life has been busy, but nothing worth noting has happened. Just regular run of the mill days here.

Spring has definitely sprung. My tulips have popped up, right along with daffodils and hyacinths, which I had more of. The flowering pecan trees are so pretty. One blooming purple, the other pink and since they are side by side, whenever you look up at them, their blossoms mix into this beautiful palette against the blue sky. The plum tree blossomed it's dainty white blooms and they've already faded away. I wish they'd stay longer.

Gomez has been doing a lot of yard work. He's trimmed the hedges and already mowed the lawn twice this spring. He even set my grandmother's bird bath back up, without being asked I might add, which thrilled me. X-hubby took the bowl off the base and moved them behind the shed because he got tired of mowing around it years ago. I'd ask and ask but he'd never put it back, the dipshit. Granny had planted the tulip, daffodil, hyacinth mix in a little flowerbed surrounding the base of the birdbath and it kind of looked wrong not having the centerpiece there. It's an old cement birdbath that at one time had been painted dark green. I guess that was the thing to do years ago. *shrug* Over the years the paint has faded almost completely away, leaving just smudges here and there next to the raised parts of concrete.

The boys thought it really funny that Lowe's is selling the "weathered" birdbaths now, because we have a real weathered one already.

Umm. Wait, got off track.

Ok, so Gomez moved the birdbath back, then he took some black edging that X had left in the storage shed and put that around the flowerbed. THEN he put bricks around that. What WAS a round flowerbed now is kind of football shaped, but hey, the kid was playing Master Gardener. Do you think I was going to stop him? Oh hell no.

He did the flowerbed thing totally on his own. I stayed away mainly because it was his project and I've been known to offer too much "help" every now and then.

Quit laughing.

Ok ok, I take over and try to do get him to do it my way.

But really, in my mind I AM just helping.

I said stop laughing. Sheesh people.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Now before you get the wrong idea and think Gomez has some urge to do lawn care for a living, not that there's anything wrong with that, or that he's been struck by some altruistic tendency, not that there's anything wrong with that either, you should know the whole story.

Ok, the flowerbed/birdbath thing was totally a "just cuz" thing.

The lawnmowing and hedge trimming is an attempt to earn money, not that there's anything wrong with that either.

He's gotten it into his head that his life is just a meager existence and would be greatly improved if he had an X-box. *rolls eyes*

Last summer I told him that I'd go in halfs with him for one. He asked what he could do to earn money and I provided him a list of things to do and how much each task would earn him. There were also stipulations with some of them - such as "If I have to remind you more than twice to do it, then you have to do it without getting paid."

Wha?? Oh yes I do too love my kids. Geeze. Get a grip.

These are chores beyond normal chores, thank you very much. There are things that he does just because he's a member of this family, and family members all pitch in.

Well, that's the theory anyway.

It doesn't seem to be working all that well lately. I know it's my fault. I let them get away with too much and it all falls back on me.

Except, I've gotten sick of it and things they are a'changing.

And it's blowing their ever lovin' minds.

My future daughters in law are gonna love me if I manage to stick to my guns and make this work.

The problem I'm having is that sometimes I get soooooo fuckin' sick of saying "Take your shoes to your room. Throw the soda can in the trash. Pick up that candy wrapper. Backpacks go in your rooms." Sometimes I think that it's just easier to do it myself.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Dear Kimo,

Saying "please!" repeatedly after I say "No" isn't going to get you what you want. It IS going to piss me off and make your chances of getting what you want the same as my chances of developing the ability to blink my eyes and bounce my ponytail a'la Jeannie to get the house cleaned.

In other words, it ain't happening son. Give it up.

Love you,

Mom

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Dear Bisa::

Stop getting caught up in the "No" "Please" "No" "Please!" "No!" "Pleeeeeeaaaasseee pleeeeeaaaaassseeeeee pleeeeaaaaasssseeeeee" game.

He's younger and the temptation to give in just to shut him the hell up is too great. He can't win what he can't engage you in. Nip it in the bud. You should know this.

Love,

Me

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Dear Gomez,

Thank you again for the wonderful surprise of putting back up my Granny's bird bath. You have no idea what that meant to me ... then again, knowing your thoughtfulness, maybe you did.

Love you,

Mom

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Ok, so Trin managed to talk me into joining Okrut .. or Orkut ... or hell Okurt ... whatever the hell it is.

She's so sly. She can work me better'n the kids can. She does that whole non-pressure pressure thing. She's a champ at it. Man, I feel sorry for her son. He's up against a brick wall. LOL

Anyway, I'm there and I have no idea. I kept asking her (as I was filling out the registration form) "Ok Trin, but what's it FOR?"

Trin: "It's a community, Bisa." *very patiently said*

Bisa: "But what kind?"

Trin: "LOTS of different kinds."

Bisa: "umm ok, but what do you do there?"

Trin: "Meet people and network."

Bisa: "Uhh, ok, but how? Do you post entries there or something?"

Trin: "Well, no not really. You can join communities and keep up with friends and rate them."

Bisa: "Oh. Ok." *totally clueless*

So umm yeah, I'm there. I dunno why and I dunno what I'm doing there, but hey, if Trin is involved and Weetabix and Cosmicrayola and Notjustamom are all there, it must be where the cool kids hang out.

Doing what, I have NO friggen idea.

No really, I'm NOT a follower generally.

Shuttup.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

May I just say that Happy Bunny rocks my socks?

I'm thinking a new diary template may be in order. Hmmmm

Until next time (which I hope isn't nearly as long in coming .. hell me either for that matter but that's prolly a little more than ya'll wanted to know) ~

bisa

P.S. Oh! Chrome won the Diarist.Net Legacy Award!! Thank you to all those that helped. I'll be getting his award graphic posted as soon as it's made available to me. :)




Prev // Next

Words and Images � bisa-pet